Seeing with my Eyes Wide Shut


As they walked along the road they came to a man who had been blind since birth. Jesus spit into his hand and mixed it with some dirt from the ground and anointed the mans eyes with the mixture. Then he said go, and wash in the pool of Siloam.

Later when talking to the religious leaders of the day. He talked about those who could see but were blind, and those who were blind but now could see.

I am paraphrasing here, but this section of scripture started me thinking… How many times do we really see? We see the outside and make judgements, worse still those judgements are a basis for actions, many times wrongful. When we carelessly say “How are you today” without really caring about the answer. Then again if we are asked how we are doing how many times do we put up a front or give a platonic answer knowing the asking party isn’t really interested.

Have I fallen so far that I am anesthetized to the humanity I share and the grace in which I walk?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seeing with my Eyes Wide Shut

  1. Lady Deidre says:

    You can breath life or death with your words. So you always want to say you’re well whether you feel it or not. Believe it is so — the Lord will Bless you. it’s prophetic.
    I’m not usually a soap box kind of person! 🙂
    God Bless You,
    Dei

  2. Thanks for the reminder. I really have been trying to stop what I am doing and really look at the person that is talking to me as well as become a better listener. I want to be more open than just slugging through life one day at a time. I cannot tell you how many people in the past couple weeks have almost run me over because they were busy looking down at their cell phones – a little rude. Have a Great Day:)

    • JT says:

      That’s what happens to me, I see for a while but then the cares of this world often overcome me and my focus falls from looking to help others to taking care of me…it’s a conundrum

Leave a Reply

