How do you live your life?


I have been considering over the past couple of weeks, my life. I have heard it said, “a life isn’t measured by the birthdays you celebrate but the life lived between those birthdays”.

My pondering comes from the realization that I live day-to-day, and I think for the most part that’s how most of us live. I know there is goal oriented people out there who have spent innumerable hours planning, strategic maneuvering and striving for various goals they believe will enhance their lives in some way, shape or form.

Please don’t misunderstand me, that isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I do wonder if all the time spent in trying to “make it” in this life may be somewhat frivolous with our most important asset…time.

Pouring your time and energy into others in my estimation is far and away more valuable both for the here and now and perhaps more significantly for eternity. If we measure our lives by how much we get, rather than how much we give, then by what standard will our lives be measured by? When we die and pass from this blip of time into eternity, we won’t be remembered by how much we accumulated and the legacy we leave will not live on.

How much we give of our time our talents and our treasure will far surpass any material good there is.

I need to give a whole lot more.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you live your life?

  1. mrsmamablack says:

    Inspiring! It’s so nice to see a blogger contemplating real priorities in life.

Leave a Reply

