Resolutions Revealed


So here it is, the moment you all have been waiting for when I reveal my New year Resolutions in an attempt to alleviate some of my short-comings. Are you ready… here goes, hmm that’s weird, I can’t think of any short-comings.

Oh well that was easy. GGhhhaaahhhh, Excuse me Choking on my words!

I will admit I do not like to talk about my faults, and they are many, of course most of us do not like to be vulnerable, especially in such a non-secure environment. I have made one resolution, I have resolved to make no resolutions!

That being said, I have decided to implement a slight turn of my rudder. Beginning Monday I am going to put focused energy on spending 30 minutes, 3 days a week of intentional movement. It sounds like I am avoiding the word exercise and if that was your summation, you would be correct! I like to avoid trigger words not because they intimidate me but because their meanings are either twisted or lost all together.

An example would be the word diet. When people say diet currently, it is usually with the intention of temporarily changing their caloric intake until their waist is the size it used to be or the pants they want to wear can be successfully clasped or otherwise closed in order to avoid a wardrobe malfunction, (ahem). conversely a dietary change that had sustainable long-term success would include the realization that our current idea of dieting leads to becoming a human yoyo, therefore dietary change probably needs to incorporate a different philosophy altogether. (if you’ll excuse the rant)

All that to say my focused and intentional movements will consist of things I enjoy and want to do rather than coming from a mindset that I must willfully force my body to do things I loathe, over and over again because “it’s good for me” , expecting that suddenly my self discipline will win the war over my lazy tendencies.

So …. what we can surmise from this conversation is that maybe if I convince myself I like doing certain things I can trick myself into doing them, Hmpf…then again, failure is guaranteed if we never try.

Happy New Year!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in health, humor, introspection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Resolutions Revealed

  1. Ooo, “intentional movement,” I like that. I think I might run that one by my husband … Maybe that will help him be more “intentional” with his resolutions as well.

    Thanks as always for the great post, and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

