Resolutions!


  This time of year many of us reflect on the year gone by and begin to think of the year ahead. When I was a younger man I would fall into the mindset many times of resolving to fix what I considered deficits in my life from the previous year.

  This would often times result in a negative  as I would set unrealistic expectations for myself both in quantity and ridiculous expected outcomes.

   Someone once told me to think about changes the same way you might steer a ship. The ship is guided by a rudder that in proportion to the size of the ship is small in comparison. 

 

English: A pile of potato chips. These are Utz...

Image via Wikipedia

 

  For example if you were to sit in front of the TV every night and eat half a bag of potato chips and you decided to make a change, instead of committing to eat no more chips at night perhaps you decide that every other day you would eat raw fruit or vegetables instead of chips when the snack monster grabbed a hold of you.

  Of course making the right choices is important… if you decided to eat ice cream instead of chips the outcome you desired probably won’t be forthcoming.

   The other factor is the number of changes you decide to make. Deciding on 1 or 2 changes is far more likely to succeed than having a top 10 list!

 Personally I am thinking of a couple of things but I’m not quite ready to reveal them to you yet. Friday I will make them known and then you all will become my accountability partners.

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, health, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolutions!

  1. Mary says:

    I have to wait until Friday?????? Hmmmm sure you won’t tell me today????

Leave a Reply

