Everything is Bigger When Your 6


Inevitably, at this time of year I tend to reminisce of years gone by. this is the prism I suppose I look through when evaluating the present and to some degree how I may see the future.

  These memories often give me new perspective, for instance not so long ago I drove by my old neighborhood and remembered the days of my youth. We used to go sledding at a Convent placed (according to my six-year-old memory) high upon this large hill. I remember tearing down this large hill that had a chain link fence at the bottom of the hill that sat on a 3 foot high stone wall. This gave enough of a sense of security that we felt the fence would stop us from dropping off this 3 foot wall down a small embankment and into a large and busy church / Catholic School parking lot.  The fence had just enough give at the bottom of it that if we hit it at the right speed and inflection we could actually pass through and down the aforementioned embankment. We named this occasional hazard “Jaws”!

 I remember the hours of fun, and the heightened sense of danger that “Jaws” might get you and release you into the forbidden abyss only served to increase the excitement.

  Driving by was at once a melancholy moment as well as a deflation into reality. The barely perceptible hill caused me to pause, and wonder if perhaps someone had performed a landscaping miracle in order to reduce the hill to a small rise and the formidable and greatly feared fence known as “Jaws” was gone, replaced by the latest in decorative vinyl fencing.

  It never ceases to cause me wonderment at how our memories embellish the reality. Have you noticed this in your life?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, humor, introspection, Just Because, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Everything is Bigger When Your 6

  1. Every once in a while I find myself reflecting on childhood lane:)

  2. Paul Miller says:

    At one time I would spend several hours outdoors in winter months, the more horrible the weather the better. Now I press a button from my window to warm up my car.
    Thanks for bringing back fond memories JT.

    • JT says:

      Glad to oblige Paul, indeed many happy memories even if they are somewhat embellished in my recollection of them 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!

Leave a Reply

