The Prison of Unforgiveness!


Forgiveness.. it seems we struggle with letting go when others have committed a wrong against us, well it seems I have trouble letting go when someone continually does me some dis-service.  I usually will feign outwardly to have let it go but inside I find some of my thoughts and motivations hindered by these multiple offenses.

  I realize this actually is more my problem than others and when I think of situations when others have refused to forgive me it has made me realize that their suffering is greater than my own.

  I know God forgives when I confess and turn from my wretched ways, (repentance) and I seem to be able to forgive myself…at least most of the time. This un-forgiveness that I may hold on to is truly an area where I need some help. I sense I want to forgive but I come up against the wall because my pride and desire to protect myself from further hurt gets in the way. 

  Do you have any situations in your life that helps you to relate to this scenario? Letting go is what I not only have to do, I need to do it as well, if I don’t I will remain trapped in a prison of my own making and if I refuse to forgive others than God will not forgive me. This is not from a God who is vengeful, but is from my God who loves me and understands far better than me that if I don’t forgive, I can not be truly free.

  How about you…are you free?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, health, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Prison of Unforgiveness!

  1. My life is a journey of forgiveness. I long for the day I can have forgiveness for the Self. A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step, so too does my path to forgiveness.

    • JT says:

      Well said! Forgiving ourselves isn’t always easy and our society tends to remind us far more often of our shortcomings rather than our successes, that being said I have yet to find anyone apart from Christ who always gets it right. The journey continues and I hope yours is filled with steps forward :-). Thanks for stopping by and I hope to hear from you again.

  2. Pingback: The Choice of Forgiveness | Eucharisteo Ministries

  3. A very thought provoking post today! I find it harder to forgive when I have been hurt multiple times, however; that being said I also need to move forward and put it behind me at times too. I am learning how to pick my battles and of those battles which ones to just walk away from. Great post.

    • JT says:

      Thanks Renee for your constant affirmations, and picking battles is a good way to look at it. It’s the letting go part that at times is really difficult 🙂

  4. Great post! You are so right and yet it can be so hard sometimes to let go of what hurts us the most. Forgiveness is tough!

    On another note… it says I am subscribed to your blog but I don’t get email notifications anymore when you do post. I hadn’t “heard” from your blog in awhile so I came to the site to check it out and was amazed by how much you’ve written that I seemed not to have heard of. Not sure what’s up there???

    Just wanted you to know I’m still around 😉

Leave a Reply

