Grampa was a Veteran


    

Flag of the United States of America

Image via Wikipedia

 

 

      I remember as a young boy going to Grampa’s house on many occasions and seeing the flag flying from a bracket mounted on the front of the garage. On occasion I even witnessed him taking it down at sunset, with a respect that stirred me to reverence. Grampa never talked about his time in the military or his involvement in the 2nd World War, however by his actions of duty and his life of integrity, I knew he was a good man.

      I am ashamed to admit that my own home doesn’t adorn an American Flag, oh I have thought about it numerous times and have stopped to consider the purchase when walking by a display in the local dept. store, it seems now I have no good reason for not purchasing and displaying our flag, but during those moments, while justifying why it wasn’t the right time to make that purchase it all seemed completely reasonable.

     I think next week when I get paid it is time to honor Grampa and the countless others who have given so much to protect and ensure we can live with and for the Freedom and Liberties our flag represents, and make that purchase.

     Thank you Grampa and Thank You Veterans, Today we take the time to remember you!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

