The Monday After…


  Vacation= breaking from the daily routine in order to rest, relax, cease to perform work, paid or unpaid for a period of time in order to be hopefully refreshed, and return to the aforementioned routine renewed.

  The reality= performing as much as possible into a predetermined time slot, usually a week or two, that normally would occur over weeks or even months, usually at the expense of your sanity, routine and checkbook.

  I have no doubt there are the disciplined souls out there who are able to balance a vacation period to achieve the supposed state of nirvana that we typically envision when thinking about and planning for said vacation, I however am not one of them. Are you?

  Welcome to the Monday after, where your non-rested self returns to the workforce stressed at either spending too much or not

Calvin

Image via Wikipedia

 

 spending enough, to find yourself opening the proverbial task closet back at work to find, like something out of ‘Calvin and Hobbes“, the tiger leaping on you with not only your normal workload but everything else that was shuffled in your direction without your knowledge or approval to land on your head, lap and responsibility plate!

     The next vacation I schedule I will surely be the wiser, yes I will not fall into this cycle of repeatedly placing myself in the path of this cyclonic onslaught, I will rise above the morass of insanity expecting a different result while doing things exactly the same as I always have,

The first Calvin and Hobbes treasury.

Image via Wikipedia

 

 of course by the time I can take another vacation I likely will forget these lessons and vitriol, but hey, I have one thing to say to you Monday after…bring it!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in humor, Just Because, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Monday After…

  1. Renee says:

    I recently ended a 10 year career due to a layoff situation. I now work a basic 8 to 5 job until I decide my next move. I am able to leave my work at work for the most part. I decided to take a 12 day vacation this August (8 days off of work) and loved it! The way I tend to look at it is I work hard when I am work and have earned my vacation time, so really try to enjoy my time off:) I think it is sad when people lose vacation time that they have earned – the place truly will be there (and like you said probably more work than when you left) and your co-workers will survive without you! Life is too short not to live it, especially when the majority us spend most our time commuting to and from work and being at work.

    • JT says:

      How true Renee,
      Life is so short and the work will get done when it gets done, hopefully I will get more chances to relax in the future…I probably will have to stop working three jobs though before that happens 🙂

Leave a Reply

