Memory Lane


Out on the road today, I took a trip down memory lane

Dirt road

Image via Wikipedia

It wasn’t where I was headed, it just worked out that way

I saw a 1970 something Pinto, yellow as a lemon

And a bike with a banana seat, a little slice of heaven

Went by my childhood home, amazed at how it’s changed

Felt a bit melancholy, things never stay the same

A Schwinn banana seat with sissy bar, bobbed f...

Image via Wikipedia

The dirt road was so much shorter, the hills were not as high

I stopped for a bit anyway, trying to remember with my child’s eye

Could almost see gramps, out by the 55 gallon drum burning trash

Gramma on her knees out back, picking rhubarb while simmering corn beef hash

The lake where my dad used to swim, just across the street

The same lake where I spread his ashes, now that he’s deceased

I can see the little boy running down the lane, on his way home from school

Looking forward to climbing trees, because climbing trees was cool

Yes it’s all just a memory, kept for recollection inside my mind

Thoughts, events and situations, from another time

I can’t go back the memories are set in stone

The emotions and the attitudes are mine and mine alone

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in introspection, life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memory Lane

  1. So true, so very true. I love trips down Memory Lane, but they are often so very bittersweet. They leave me happy and sad all at the same time. Happy that it happened and sad that it never will again.

Leave a Reply

