Reality Slap with a 2×4!


Hi all, it’s vacation week for me, well rather staycation. I will admit I have been battling the “woe is me” monster quite a bit this week and I really hate feeling that way! It only takes a moment of running down the list of all I have to be thankful for, to drop my mental self into a double taking mixing bowl, spending half the time trying to shake the pity party off my left shoulder while my right shoulder is winding up a full swing with the two by four to send me a reality check.

I know lots of people don’t even get to take a vacation and I am really ashamed of myself. That being said I wondered what some of you do to shake off the pity monster when he visits you, do you recognize it for what it is or do you decide to let it visit for a while justifying the need for an empathetic ear?

Thankfully I am not alone, although that is part of the conundrum, I would love to treat the family to a multitude of entertaining escapes and the fact that I can not, leaves me frustrated, this is the reality for many I realize, however knowing this reality isn’t enough to erase the frustration it simply requires me to acknowledge it!

So, we are planning a couple of day trips and making the best of it. Perhaps some new opportunities will open up in the future.  Meanwhile send me your thoughts ideas and suggestions…. or just tell me to shut up and get over it 🙂

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Just Because, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reality Slap with a 2×4!

  1. Kimmie says:

    I think we all get the J – just the fact that you’re wanting to do more than you can shows that you love your family very much. What’s great is that a staycation can be just as fun if not more fun than a vacation (can definitely be alot more relaxing and enjoyable – believe it or not).

    What do I do you ask… look for things in the area that are low cost or kids go to for free. Another thing that I’ve found is that there are now sites out there where you can get things for 1/2 off – even if it’s just a hotel stay for a night – that can be fun too because the kids can play in the pool and such and the hotel can only cost you $60. Check those out too. Living Social and Groupon are the two that I get things from. They do discounts from painting pottery to discounted dining to hotel stays.

    Get out of your slump and know that your staycation isnt as bad as you think and it’s alot less expensive then a stressful vacation can be with delays and weather changes.

    Love ya!
    Kimmie

  2. Lori D says:

    Well I say enjoy the staycation!!! I, myself love them. I find them relaxing and a great way to destress!! No where to be nothing to do and all day to do it 🙂 When I have a staycation I feel refreshed and ready to go back to work. Sometimes crazy vacations tire you out and you need a vacation from your vacation. So enjoy I say!!!

    • JT says:

      Thanks Lori, I agree with the part about “No where to be nothing to do and all day to do it” However I am moving relatives, repairing the house, and maintaining vehicles, and while I am glad for the time to do it…. I would rather be at the beach with a good book :-). No worries though, I am a hardy New Englander, bring it on 😀

  3. I think staycations are great! You won’t have to go through the typical “I need a vacation from my vacation” exhaustion that comes from taking a big trip. You will just BE relaxed. As long as you put down the 2×4… and take a few deep breaths 😉

    Enjoy your time off with the family.

Leave a Reply

