“The Day After?


Irene has come and gone,  the number of people  you ask about the day after the storm will be the same number of opinions you will get on the effects of the storm. Personally Irene is no friend of mine, for many she was the perfect excuse to be a couch potato for the day, however for 22 people it was the end of their earthly experience and for an innumerable number of others the end of that experience has changed their experience forever!

Because we hear the sad and the tragic everyday, unless we are directly impacted by said tragedies it barely makes it into our awareness. Oh later we may be by the water cooler when some one says ” hey, did you hear about so and so” or a friend brings up the story she heard on the news for comment, but for most of us our day moves forward without so much as a meditative moment on the loss, or those impacted by it!

I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, more a reflection of the world we live in, and perhaps a reflection on how self-centered I am, and if you thought about it, maybe you would put yourself in my camp too?  I suppose it’s necessary for us to compartmentalize given the magnitude of tragedies we are made aware of on a daily basis, if we let ourselves feel even half of them, we would be overwhelmed with the emotional fallout.

In thinking about it though, it still kind of stirs my anger…or maybe my sense of humanity. As I listen to the media now hyping the over hype of the storm and the multitude berating how inconvenienced they are without power now, for some indiscriminate number of hours, our sense of being put out in comparison with a child maybe now left without a parent, or a mother losing her only daughter, maybe a young couple with plans to wed now left broken and the future they were envisioning is now only half, their dream a jumbled and broken mess…

I don’t like to talk about this and even less do I want to think it…it’s so much easier to gloss it over and fill my thoughts with I’m good, my life is good and when asked, I can say yes everything is going great, but that doesn’t negate the fact that people… good people, bad things are happening to, and yes I have no power, and yes it’s a royal pain, but I get to hold my wife today, I can tell my sons and daughters I love them, and when MY world becomes so big that I can’t empathize with another’s pain or loss, then that’s a day after I would be better off without!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in introspection, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

