Judgment!


Question, is anyone here able to say they have never cast a judgment on anyone including themselves?…….. I thought not.

There came a moment in my life, probably much later than most when the realization came to me that what I thought about myself and my perception of myself, shockingly did not match up with what other people thought of me. I will say this, that day was one of the biggest shocks to my ego I ever had and even now when I meditate on this truth it makes me feel angry and sad at the same time! Angry because the judgment was cast on me based on a false premise and sad because I was helpless to change their perception.

One of the single most frustrating parts of this truth is that it can’t be helped, there is an old cliché that is still true, “You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression!”, and that is where often a lot of judgments are made. There is also an ironic element in that we often make negative judgments on others while inexplicably committing the identical infraction ourselves, and while we are quite ready to speak out, “Judge not lest ye be judged”, it seems we have blinders on so that we don’t see our own hypocrisy. I am not writing this in judgment of others, quite to the contrary, this is an all-inclusive assertion. I am guilty of this every day…many times a day!

We make judgments all the time, it’s a normal part of daily life, maybe that is why we are so prone to errant judgments because as we go through the day, there are so many things we need to make judgments on that it’s easy to slide on over and make judgments on things we shouldn’t. We are driving down the road and come to an intersection with a 4 way stop. We need to make a judgment on whether or not it is safe to proceed, thankfully we stopped and looked because the fool coming down the road from our right did not stop and blows through the stop sign! Enter judgment mode, a stream of unkind thoughts,  words and / or actions comes out as if by some unknown centrifugal force! Now stopping at the stop sign = good judgment, our response to the clueless one=??? Is our reaction usual,  yes it is, is our reaction warranted? ( put aside your desire to be vindicated here). Really what good came out of that judgment? That driver is some where down the road probably oblivious to the fact that you went from normal heart rhythms to a rage in a half a heartbeat, and we passed judgment on them based on a 3 second encounter. I say all this just to highlight how easy it is to slip in and out of necessary judgments. I know there are so many arguments to be made here with this imperfect analogy, but for the sake of the argument can we skip it and get to the root of my hypotheses? That is to say that it is really difficult to judge correctly and I for one need to improve in this area because frankly, I have plenty of my own stuff that needs fixing to spend any energy trying to fix somebody Else’s issues!

I remember hearing this saying, ” If you are pointing a finger at someone else there are three fingers pointing back at you. When I am confronted about making a judgment against someone else I am faced with a choice I can stubbornly stick to my judgment letting my pride get in the way or I can ask forgiveness from the wrongly judged and edify us both.

I think I will leave on this note and you can make your own judgment,   Mathew 7:1             “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others , you will be judged.”

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Judgment!

  1. Yes Yes Yes…so easy to slip into this darkness isn’t it. Short story…I was always being annoyed about the fact that people were not allowing me to enter into the heavy traffic areas or just be plain courteous when driving..it really bothered me! Then one day the Lord said “They are not all being rude you know…Where is your Grace?” Ok..flash forward to me preoccupied with myself and MY day and…..OOOPS! Oh I’m so sorry I mouthed to the other driver as I just paid no attention to the fact that he/she was trying to enter the heavy traffic area…Ahhh I see now Lord..I had judged all these drivers as being mean and uncaring and the majority of them are just like me…So now I try my very best to stop and let that person by or in front of me because I hope it will return to me as well, but when they don’t I remember my moments of “OOPS” and TRY not to JUDGE them…..Ya I’m still working on it….or should I say HE’s still working on me 😉 Thanks JT

    • JT says:

      Yes I can so relate in fact I wish it was an occasional happenstance instead of a regular occurrence! Thanks so much for sharing your story it’s good to know I am not the only one struggling.

Leave a Reply

