The Apple of My Eye!


Apples are an all-American success story-each ...

Image via Wikipedia

Today I thought I would start what will be a series posted sporadically of course, on fruit, both the ones we eat and it’s corresponding life applications, at least that’s the way I’m telling it!

Might as well start at the beginning both literally and figuratively.

” The Apple”  first fruit at least what we so often equate as first fruit. Our first experience with it most likely predates our memories as we probably ingested it without anyone even asking our consent first as a cooked down or strained variety quite possibly as some “Gerber” mix from the local market or perhaps Mom was a purist and had you slung on her hip while standing over a stove producing only the finest nutritional edibles for her pride and joy. (We probably should remind her all these years later, that she once actually felt that way about us!)

As the years pass many of us were introduced to the apple in varying capacities such as a way to keep the doctor away, hmm I don’t know about you but it certainly didn’t work in my case! How about as method of bribery for your teacher? Yes, that didn’t work out well for me either. As a temptation for the finer things in life such as the all-knowing power of discerning good from evil? Well, Gee, that one really worked out well, didn’t it? Frankly I wonder sometimes if that’s where the idiom “ignorance is bliss” came into being? And  for those of you looking to refute things on the grounds of a technicality, I know it’s likely not an apple that was the genesis of this mess.

All that to say we often consider an apple as a symbol of health and truly an American icon on the fruit parade. I haven’t researched it but I wouldn’t be surprised if it surpassed “Coca-Cola” in the number of product placement opportunities.

Although George Washington was known more for his trusty axe laid upon the cherry tree there are a number of history lessons remembered, with apples figuring prominently, particularly on top of someone’s head with either an arrow or a bullet on it’s way to part the fruit, or depart those upon whom it was displayed!

As a source of nutrition http://www.nutrition-and-you.com/apple-fruit.html

As a source of fun … let’s see there is bobbing for apples, and apple picking, and crab apple fights (not my idea of fun but hey you have to defend yourself when attacked), my favorite apple, in it’s various forms, is the one that we eat! Apple juice, apple turnovers, apple crisp and the infamous “Hot apple pie à la mode”!

When considering the aforementioned delicacies, we should in no way consider whether or not the once pristine reputation of the apples nutritional calling card may have been besmirched. We don’t eat apple flavored desserts because we want to be healthy…we eat them because their COMFORT FOOD!

Now as for comparing apples for apples, lets not! In my mind there is far too much comparing going on in this world already!

In hindsight I would like to thank Mom for telling me I was the apple of her eye, I am much more comfortable hearing that now that I finally realize there isn’t a piece of fruit lodged in your eyeball!

So whether you eat an apple a day or use some other method to hold down your medical bills, You my readers are the apples in my eyes! Thanks for all your affirmations!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
Aside | This entry was posted in food, God, health, humor, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Apple of My Eye!

  1. Mary says:

    Hmmmmm I thought the kids were the apples of your eye??? 🙂 J/K Yes apple pies and apple turnovers are comfort food. But let’s face it. They taste sooooooo much better when loaded up with cinnamon and sugar!! Yummy!

  2. And thank YOU. This was a fun read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

