A Series of Unfortunate Events


A friend and I were talking recently and a concept came up that I voiced but hadn’t really thought much about before. We were sharing stories about life experiences and I was feeling  a bit dejected about an upcoming vacation that I had been planning  and due to a series of unfortunate events it has turned into a staycation instead, which normally I wouldn’t mind but we haven’t taken a real vacation since 2005 so I was really looking forward to it.

He had some serious kayaking plans and much like myself due to a series of unfortunate events missed out on a month of said events! The realization came when I uttered these words: “If we want to participate with life our plans should be to plan on our plans not working out the way we wanted or intended. Only if we were selfish i.e. self-absorbed would our plans work out most of the time, but we would end up on planning to be alone.”

I often don’t factor in other people when I am making plans, Let me quantify that , of course I make plans with other people both to do for, and or with them things that we enjoy. However when I am processing said plans I have to admit there is no room for deviating from the plan factored in and therefore, I will admit by my own volition, I plan to fail.

Yes I know that sounds harsh, but honestly, if I look at the track record,( and I never do) I would understand that If I don’t leave room for humanity, humanity won’t leave room for me. I really don’t understand why it is so hard for me to compensate in my life for the nuances of life? You would think by now I would at least begin to take into account the literally hundreds of events that preempted my plans, and paused in a moment of reflection and said to myself, You know buddy why don’t we allow a little breathing room ….just in case….come on what could it hurt, so you cram a little less into your plans, and then there is a little breathing room in there…is that really so hard?

It doesn’t matter how much fun an event is if you don’t go, Then again if we are so rigid we go anyway the thrill of victory may be bitter-sweet if there is no one there to share the experience with.

I work with people, for people, all in the name of people, why, because people is where it’s at! There may be many satisfying, needed and important jobs out there, and I am glad, but if the “things” mentality wins out, if our plans take priority over people and their intrinsic value, if we are so blinded to think that we really control things. Then the most serious of unfortunate events has begun to take place …our unbreakable spirit may not be broken, but love that never fails may never have been there at all!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Series of Unfortunate Events

  1. Ahhh… compensating for the nuances of life. Great wording there! And yes, as you now know from rolling-ruler post, I usually don’t take them into account much either. Which leads to disappointment, which then leads to depression or it’s ugly cousin… RAGE… which then leads to people getting hurt. Just kidding about the “people getting hurt” part… mostly. Sort of 😉

    But seriously. I AM a control freak about most things. And it is a struggle. It is funny that you were working on this when I was posting mine. That has happened before too! I think we may be in sync! Great post!

    • JT says:

      Once again, we do seem to fire on common cyclinders often! It is very interesting 🙂 I will let you in on a little secret…well not a secret more like a discovery. Perusing the halls of blogs I am finding I don’t have nearly as many original thoughts as I once believed, So I am choking down a lot of humble pie these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

