Family(Reunion) Matters


It’s Sunday night and I am finally home, it’s been a long day and I am dog tired…not sure if that’s different from cat tired or human tired….If I could stop scratching behind the ears long enough I would go look it up but, it really has nothing at all to do with my topic and so maybe I should stop rambling here and get back on topic.

Family Reunion Quilt Front Side

Image by simple girl, simple life via Flickr

I don’t know how many family reunions you have been to. I think this was my third and I am not even sure it was really an official reunion? What I mean to say is when people say family reunion I think of months of planning, re-arranging of schedules, complicated planning details and mountains of food and beverage purchases and preparations. You know what I mean, phone calls, e-mails, snail mail not to mention various collections of photo’s and assorted memorabilia (perhaps set to video), maybe even an intricate family tree mocked up with blanks for attendees to fill in and little name tags that sit on the various branches of the tree showing lineage…..well maybe I’m going a bit overboard( which is another odd saying ). Anyway, yes there was plenty of food and probably about 40+ people but there were a number of people not there and I was disappointed because I really wanted to connect with them.

I was very grateful to be there…shoot I was thankful to be invited! There is something about getting together with family that stirs your soul, maybe it really affirms on a larger scale that you belong, that your part of something bigger than yourself, you share a connection with all these people (many you have never seen before or it has been so long since you have seen them you couldn’t remember their names any longer but knew they bore a strong resemblance to Uncle Michael or Auntie Jen) and they share a connection with you. The continuity brings a wonderful sense that you …..matter! Yes that’s it, you matter. Let’s face it in the world we live in we are faced with a daily onslaught of  De-personalization! We are reminded we are just a number, and if we don’t buck -up we can be replaced.

Well guess what? No we can’t! We are part of something much bigger, If you go back in time a bit, well maybe more than a bit. I think of the first re-union when the floods came and Noah and his wife and sons and his son’s wives and a few non-human guests decided to take a long cruise together. Now that’s a reunion! Granted there was probably an exceptional amount of clean-up to be done in the bottom of that ark at the end of the cruise….still those family bonds are just as important today as they were then. We were created for family. I am certain that there are those reading this who are thinking family reunion, No Thanks, my family is totally screwed up and I have no desire to be reminded that I am somehow connected! But you are, and I am and it’s messy in this crazy mixed up world. At the end of the day a truth comes back to me no matter how messed up things appear….when you want to share, joy, sorrow, good fortune, someone to hear, a shoulder to cry on, laughter that reduces you to tears… 

A priceless piece of jewelry, a beautiful home, or anything else that can’t communicate with you and validate that your heard, falls to the priority level of where it should be in your life!

People, with people, in this life is the only thing with value, they are the only thing that Matters!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in food, God, humor, introspection, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

