” I Forgot I Don’t Know”


These words have passed through more human lips than probably any others, particularly at two times in our life! (before 20 and after 50) Really, think about it …..I’m sorry what was I saying, Oh yea forgetfulness! Remember when you were a, oops sorry,  Try to remember when you were a kid and Mom would yell a hundred questions an hour at you about why you did or didn’t do something you were told to do or not do? If there wasn’t an answer ready and loaded we would click over to the default position of either “I forgot” or depending on context “I don’t know’

“John did you put away those clothes I asked you to? Ahhh, I don’t know? What do you mean you don’t know, (She is walking now to where she last placed the clothes). Good grief they are right here where I left them, why didn’t you put them away? I forgot.”

I have never done a study but I am sure there are a number of discrepancies in the actual meaning implied in “I don’t know”. There is the selective deafness I don’t know, meaning I didn’t hear you or I don’t want to hear you and even if I did hear you, I have no idea what the answer is and I don’t want to be the brunt of your wrath due to my neglect! Then there’s the opposite world “I don’t know”, meaning yes I do know, but as aforementioned the admittance to that leads to consequences I am not prepared to handle.

“I forgot” falls into the same category.  Children I believe, would like to purposely see Mom’s head do a 36o and pop off when they respond to; ” Chrissy for the five thousandth time why didn’t you feed the dog?”  “Sorry Mom I forgot.” “You forgot, well how about I forget to give you your dinner tonight, ( crescendo building here) or buy you your favorite shampoo! Honest to goodness CHRISSY, Thank the Lord your head is attached or you would forget that somewhere!”….  “Chrissy did you hear me!” “I don’t know she replies.” Right there is where the head pops off and it’s time to call for an exorcism.

As we get older we then face a whole new experience, it’s called “Payback”! Now our adult children will begin to approach us, puppy dog eyes clicked on for full effect, Mom, Dad, we were wondering, would you watch the kids tonight?  We reply ” I don’t know”. They reply “what do you mean you don’t know?”  “Mom and I are going to do something tonight.” “Really they respond, what?” “With a glazed eye I respond… I forget”

Of course there are the very real problems of memory loss; “I have spent the last forty-five minutes looking for my glasses, have you seen them?” Smiling they look up and point to the top of my head! Then there is the keys that subject needs a post all by itself. All this to say I don’t really know what, I forgot what the point was in all this, fact is I’m not really sure I had one. Would you do me a favor drop me a comment and let me know what I forgot?!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in conspiracy, health, humor, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ” I Forgot I Don’t Know”

  1. Tinkertoot says:

    love this – truly struck a cord

    • JT says:

      Thank you Tinkertoot for reading, and for the feedback. I really appreciate hearing whether or not what I am writing is resonating with the folks reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

