“That’s Probably a Bad Idea”


I don’t know how many of you watch “America’s got Talent” but if you did you would see where I found inspiration for this post.

A Day in the Life of....June 21, 2011: Watchin...

Image by Old Shoe Woman via Flickr

    We all have those moments when we have thought something similar, although I will have to say, unfortunately, it’s usually in hindsight, such as say doing your own car repairs. I remember a particular incident some years back when I decided to replace the rear shocks on my car. I am pretty mechanically inclined but had never replaced a shock in my life. I decided to connect with a friend who grew up doing car repairs, and the two of us with testosterone leaking out of our pores planned our attack.

  The day of our adventure came and my buddy showed up with what appeared to be the entire tool line from a “Sears and Roebuck Catalog”. We had the back of the car off the ground in no time, after making a determination that the best way to remove a stubborn rusty bolt would be to get the torch and heat it first.  A heated discussion about who would get to use the torch first ensued, (we decided since it was his torch, he would do the first shock and I would bat clean-up with the second) he had torch in hand, and a look of glee that only appears on small children Christmas morning! We both crawled under the car he operated the torch, and me, well someone had to supervise.

   After about 5 minutes of heating I gave it a shot and it wouldn’t budge, back comes the torch after a few more minutes it is cherry red when I notice something that changed things in a hurry. I yelled to my buddy to stop now! He looked at me in annoyance as if I had just taken his favorite toy away, I pointed and said isn’t that the gas line! His head snapped around and we both looked at the now very red steel tube that went by the upper part of the shock! Needless to say, we both vacated the underside of that car as if our lives depended on it, and they probably did!

  In the future when considering the possibility of doing car repairs, I reflect on that experience and think, that’s probably a bad idea!

Tell me your “that’s probably a bad idea” story.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in health, humor, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

