Got Milk? Does Milk Really do a Body Good?


Got Milk! Got Money! Got a life! I have to be honest hearing the word “Got” creeps me out a bit. If you are from my generation or older I am sure you can hear your grandmother saying there aint no such word as aint.  Ain’t is in Merriam-Webster’s dictionary now and I have no idea when that happened but I don’t think I would classify it as progress. I know, got isn’t aint, but the connotation is there. I guess I am getting off track here, this probably should have posted in “What’s in a Word” .

When I say Milk what is the first few thoughts that pop into your mind? Depending on your age I would venture to say you would probably think of several illustrations parroted to you in various media mediums. ie; “Milk, It does a Body Good”. Strong bones, strong teeth, one of the best sources there is for calcium.

Does Milk really do a body good? I think the answer might surprise you, I know it did me. First let’s clarify what milk we are talking about. Bovine (Cow’s milk that has been pasteurized and homogenized) and we purchase said milk locally at a market or convenience store. I guess the first question I now ask (I never used to ask questions) is what is pasteurizing and homogenizing and why do we do it?

Definition of HOMOGENIZE

transitive verb
1
a : to blend (diverse elements) into a uniform mixture b : to make homogeneous
2
a : to reduce to small particles of uniform size and distribute evenly usually in a liquid b : to reduce the particles of so that they are uniformly small and evenly distributed; specifically : to break up the fat globules of (milk) into very fine particles

Definition of PASTEURIZATION

1
: partial sterilization of a substance and especially a liquid (as milk) at a temperature and for a period of exposure that destroys objectionable organisms without major chemical alteration of the substance
2

: irradiation of food products

So essentially milk is heated above 118 degrees and anything living in it is killed and then its molecular makeup is changed in order to breakdown the fat globules into fine particles. Why is this done? so that people won’t get sick if the product is produced from a sick cow or sits out too long and is exposed to some kind of microbe and/or the bio-genesis process begins.

I grew up drinking milk like most people and never thought much about it. I have had a number of events that have caused me to look at things with a more critical eye. I have had around 50 kidney stones and my gall bladder was removed due to gall stones. I deeply regret that I did not perform due diligence prior to all the hospital visits pain and discomfort and surgeries. I have not had dairy products for about a year now and I don’t think it’s a coincidence I have had zero kidney stones since removing dairy from my diet.

I am not a doctor or a nutritionist, I have no credentials whatsoever. This is merely a first person account of some of my research and some of the consistent truths I have found by trying to go to sources that have nothing to gain or lose by reporting the truth. Ultimately after reading all these things I went to the bible to discover what was written there about how we should eat and live. In the end my experience is my testimony I was sick with an autoimmune disease and now I am well.

At the end of the day, to be well is what we want, isn’t it?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in food, God, health, humor, lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got Milk? Does Milk Really do a Body Good?

  1. Pingback: The Milk Warz | melonpopzdropz …

Leave a Reply

