Don’t you dare read this!


What are you doing? Are you one who disregards instructions, or perhaps the rebel in you just bristles at any authority? This is amazing I told you not to read this and yet that is exactly what you are doing . The nerve of some people! That’s it I am calling the literary police!

This is an exploration into why we read and what we read and probably just as much a curiosity, what keeps us reading. Obviously this blog post title is an example of one of the ways we can get people to at least take a look. Human nature and reverse psychology are just a couple of things we usually pick up on at an early age. Hyperbole is another tactic that can persuade some one to take an action, for instance if I want someone to post a comment at the bottom of this blog I might say, “A special gift will go to the first person who comments on this blog!” Please don’t post a comment in hopes of a gift….although I do want your feedback …hmmm what could I re-gift, no, no, no I’m kidding. But not about your feedback, that I really do want.

Why do you continue to read something? Perhaps it is something you’re passionate about or someone you care about or related to authored it. (so all my friends and relatives subscribe now no matter how awful my writing is. Ahh another tool, guilt and coercion!) Maybe it’s well written and you are drawn into the story, you are able to identify with or relate to the characters in some way. It may be that there is some skill to be gained or an insight into a situation you are experiencing. It seems there is a need versus benefit evaluation going on at some level,  and yet there are definitely other nuances that affect the choices we make. The need to finish what you started (not always at the top of my list) could be a motivation or the writer established some hope that at some point there is going to be a payoff for all your investing.

  What are you doing? You are still reading this! Good grief what would your mother say about this insolent act of disobedience?

All this to say I am interested in what your interested in. I want to have fun here and although I monopolize the platform to a certain degree, I do want a dialogue, as long as it isn’t a criticism…er I meant even if it is a criticism. I have friends who write and write well I might add, but that isn’t necessarily enough to keep me reading. Besides polite reading isn’t really doing anyone any favors. Invariably they come back to you and say, “So what did you think?”  Of which you reply “oh it was good” or “interesting” and of course they can see right through it and politely walk away with their feelings hurt, or a lesser likelihood of asking for your opinion.

I like to read history and autobiographies, visualizing real life and how the trials that someone faced shaped them as a person and affected their future. I also enjoy researching about nutrition and health related topics and looking for biblical explanations or solutions for everyday issues we struggle with.

  At the end of this I want to congratulate you! You dared to read what clearly you were told not to. Not conforming to what is told to you is often viewed negatively in our society and yet challenging the status quo is truly the first step in our search for the truth. Believing something your told without performing due diligence is blind faith….. It is  also the basis for deception.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Hello and Welcome to my Blog, humor, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t you dare read this!

  1. April says:

    Unfortunately, I am one of those people that tends to do the opposite that I’m told. That’s not a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

