A Childhood Moment…


I woke to the sound of birds outside the window. A warm gentle breeze blew through the screen and carried the scents of fresh-cut grass and tulips into my room.  I rushed to get dressed and head outside. I had nearly made it out the door when my mother’s voice suddenly stopped me mid-stride, “John, you need breakfast before you go anywhere.”

I dutifully turned around as my mind raced with ideas of what the quickest breakfast would be. As I made my way to the kitchen I remembered their was one “Pop-Tart” left in the back of the cabinet that I didn’t like. Bye Mom, I have a “Pop-Tart” I yelled as I headed out the door.

I hopped on my bike and began riding down the street. It was late May and the air was just right not too hot and not too cool, the air was alive with the sounds of birds and the promise of beautiful day heightened my senses. As I pedaled through the back streets of the neighborhood the maple trees created a kaleidoscope of light and shadow in front of me as I rode. The maple leaves were a vibrant green and the sun dappled hues created the effect of leaves waving as I passed by.  I pedaled along steadily thinking about the fact that school would be out soon and the summer stretched out before me with endless possibilities.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Childhood Moment…

  1. Memories are oh so BEAUTIFUL :)

Leave a Reply

