How did we get here?


Once upon a time…they lived happily ever after.  This world we live in/on is incredible and complex, in fact the amount of things that have to go just right to support life boggles the cranial muscles.

I find it ironic that our origins are a great source of debate. The two camps I guess are primarily evolution or creation. From what I have heard and read these two opposing sides have many nuances and have even melded together in some schools of thought.

One thing that appears to me consistent, although people will argue to the contrary, is that faith isn’t just for the creation camp.  I would say that both sides have knowingly or unknowingly exercised faith, (Faith being belief without proof).

Now the evolutionists are convinced that the reasoning for evolution is based on science and creation is based on emotion. The creationists are convinced by historical record and experience and feel the evolutionists are bent on keeping God out of it because they have never seen God and the historical record cannot be validated.

I believe this battle will not change. In fact the bible predicted this in various ways and so far all the prophetic (predicted) outcomes have come to pass… that is to say they have been 100% accurate.  I know people do/will want to argue this, and as stated earlier this will not change. The Bible states that no one comes to the Father unless the spirit draws them. That as time goes on people’s hearts will grow cold and that they will trade truth for a lie. It happens all the time and has been happening since history began.

Now, just because we might disagree on origins doesn’t mean we have to cross to the other side of the street when we see each other. We can agree to disagree after all death eventually will come and one side will find that their beliefs were valid after all. In the meantime I would rather spend my days loving you, lifting you up when your down, sharing in the joys and sorrows common to everyone and not wasting precious time and energy trying to prove something.

I promise after I die you will not hear me say I told you so.

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How did we get here?

  1. kp152 says:

    I was with you till that final dig.

  2. Of course the best evolutionary answer to your final line would be, ” I know you won’t!”

    • The Creationists make a big issue over whether or not there was a Prime Mover – God – if you will. Clearly a creator is the most likely reason for existence. Either that or an eternal universe that always existed and always will exist.
      I was on Richard Dawkins’ site for a while. A simple comment like the one above would be met with scorn and derision by his disciples. TOTAL Stalinist dictatorship. A real drag, it was; being there. :(
      On the other hand, the usually affable Christopher Hitchens said, “There very well may be a God, but he doesn’t recognize us as intelligent, feeling, beings.” Ding, ding, ding, ding. We have a winner! IMO
      When one considers how many scriggly moving objects there are in and around us, it’s quite understandable. It also may be that entities such as us are inconceivable to him.
      JT, I went to this lady’s journal. Pretty good! Also, in case you’re wondering who frined is in my comment below, I’ll tell you later. ;)

  3. Rats!
    theditorsjournal had the same thought I did.
    “after all death eventually will come and one side will find that their beliefs were valid after all.”
    My first inclination is to say, “No. We won’t.” Because, of course, obviously, we won’t exist. ;)
    I can take it lightly now– my inevitable non-existence. But I’m not staring Death right in the eye. Hitchens blinked a little bit. (Of course he had been tortured by his doctors for months– and by Mother Nature.) He said, “I’m willing to be surprised.”
    Jim Morrison wanted to be remembered as a poet. No safety or surprise/I’ll never look into your eyes again.
    Those are memorable words, just as “I’ll show you fear in a handful of dust” is.
    Good grief. I’m getting depressed. :(
    How ya doing John? :)
    Hope all is well and good with you.

    • JT says:

      Not to well my friend… my mother in law that lives with us has just decided to stop her dialysis treatments… soo. We are on the death watch. Ironic in light of this post…

Leave a Reply

