Signs… of Our Times.


Signs, they are everywhere. Some tell us what to do, or where to go, or what not to do or not to go.  Helpful at times and confusing occasionally, one thing is certain we take signs for granted most of the time. I will read a sign and, at times, begin a conversation with myself, (Usually not out loud, because after all, we all know what that is a sign of.) pondering various aspects of the signs intended meaning, as well as some often unintended ones.

Entering a public restroom a familiar sign is, “Employee’s Must Wash Hands Before Returning to Work!” In my mind this just begs the question, what about everyone else? I guess it’s optional? I mean okay, so I am done my shift… I guess washing my hands at this point is optional. I just came in from a job site installing sewer pipe. I wanted to order some lunch but I’m not your employee sooo….

I am not even going to consider getting my hands wet.

Additionally, we have to ask, what is the punishment if I don’t wash my hands? Will I get a talking to? How do you know I didn’t wash my hands… are there camera’s in there? Isn’t that an invasion of my privacy? The big question is why do we need a sign at all? Why wouldn’t anyone who put there hands on or near body waste naturally want to wash their hands? Probably the most disturbing part is how many people don’t wash their hands and the percentages change, depending on gender and whether or not someone else is in the restroom at the same time.

Other signs are less obvious and, maybe we don’t even realize they are signs until we look back in hindsight. When some time has passed it may give us some perspective, perhaps there were some indications that something was about to change, but, at the time we didn’t recognize them.

I am facing a change right now that I didn’t see coming, and looking back I can’t see any signs I may have missed. I don’t know if more time going by will reveal some new perspective, however I sense the need to react or change my course regarding this event.

I do sense the need to wait before making a decision… that seems to be one of the difficulties because it goes against my human nature to wait. Actually I can’t really say that, maybe it’s a learned behavior rather than my nature.

Do you see the signs? If so, how quickly are you likely to react to them and what is your strategy, if any, in making effective decisions?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Signs… of Our Times.

  1. JT – I resist or ignore signs until said signs pretty much smack me in the face at times – ha! Wishing You the Best in this transition period:) Happy Weekend

Leave a Reply

