Turkey Day Confessions


I have a shocking admittance to make… in light of the recent holiday, well frankly, I am having a hard time stirring up the feelings of thankfulness. It isn’t really that I am not thankful, actually I have a lot to be thankful for, it’s just that… well quite a bit of not so thankful stuff has been happening the last few months between medical, family deaths, care giving for an aging parent and adult children who don’t act like adults.

And, frankly, there are moments when I “feel” like going on a tirade here about the whole blessed mess, but really that would accomplish nothing.

I know quite a few people who are facing difficult things in their life, and leave me feeling petty and ashamed that I should quibble over such paltry issues.

Lord give me grace where I lack and forgiveness for my self-directed focus. In spite of me be glorified in my life. Thank you Lord for the gift that truly knows no bounds and hope eternal, help me to walk that out today.

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Turkey Day Confessions

  1. He does give us grace. He DOES! I just KNOW He does. Regardless of what we go through – it is ours to go through and it is very major to us. Even if everyone around is going through something 10X worse – they aren’t going through what we are going through. Praying Brother…

  2. ….And so is our family proof of God’s grace and miracles! We can never have too many prayers :)

  3. Hang on – medical issues, deaths in the family, and care giving for an aging parent are not “trivial issues!” You have a right to be pissed, to get mad at God, and to feel whatever you’re feeling. Decades ago, after a death in the family, I tried to suck it up, pretend I believed it was God’s will, and try to make the leap from stage 1 to stage 5 of the grief process. Such shortcuts do not work, and the things I stuffed later came out.

    Much later I learned that to the extent that I can simply be still, experience whatever I am experiencing as it happens, non-judgementaly, whatever it is will pass by, like a wind blowing through a house with the doors and windows open.

    I believe that it’s fine to anchor oneself in prayer as much as you want to, but to tell myself what I *should* be feeling never works – reality always trumps what I think reality *should* be.

  4. JT – I find blogging a great OUTLET to let it out:) I am learning that it is better to get the emotions, feelings and thoughts out and in a safe and healthy way too. Better than bottling it up and then exploding! Take Care My Friend:)

Leave a Reply

