Today I Remember 10,950 Yesterday’s


I took the rare opportunity to surprise my better half today. Thirty years ago today we went on our first date and my shameless attempts to prove if she would put up with me for the rest of her life, she would attain sainthood. Thankfully, she bought it, and, She Did.

I wanted to take her to the same restaurant that I took her to thirty years ago. Unfortunately , although the building still stands and is in fact still an oriental restaurant, it is not the “Wind Tiki”.

Coincidentally, (or maybe not) there is another Wind Tiki in another town near us. I am not certain if there is or was a connection between the Wind Tiki in Worcester and this one, but I decided to stay with the name and go to that one for nostalgia sake.

We had a wonderful respite from the usual craziness that comprises our daily agenda and made a rather melancholic realization that thirty years ago  we were ready to party the night away and now we were just looking forward to getting as much sleep as possible before tomorrow dawns on us.

Still that doesn’t detract at all from the incredible grace we have been given and the grateful hearts we have, that our love is still enduring and in fact has grown for each other immeasurably over the last three decades.

Our secret for longevity… a common love of an incredible God and taking things as they come, “One day at a Time”.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today I Remember 10,950 Yesterday’s

  1. Kate Cote says:

    Awesome, John, just awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

