Politics and Little League


The man jabbing a finger in the air, face taking on the anatomic proportions of an aggravated Puffer fish, yelled furiously at the umpire 30 yards away oblivious to the 50 or so other spectators around him. On the field a boy nonchalantly tugs his cap a little lower in an effort to appear completely disconnected from the moron making a fool of himself in the bleachers and wondering if it was possible to disown him before heading back to the dugout where invariably his teammates would be voicing a few opinions of their own.

The couple sat there in the restaurant, heatedly debating whether the ________ public official had the brains of a mountain of shite or the molehill of scat left by a marsupial from the Australian outback, while the rest of the diners subconsciously were either taking sides or praying the management would oust the offending couple.

There’s no doubt we are a passionate people about certain topics and we are, at times  more than willing to share our particular views when discussing things close to our hot buttons.  At times I find myself holding my tongue in check because whatever etiquette or even just common decency I might possess is stronger than the urge to join in the fray. What I typically am thinking is people need to get a grip on reality. I am just as likely as the next person to root for the home team or feel strongly about the positions of our elected officials, however not at the expense of getting my shorts in a bunch or parading around spouting off like a Beluga. It is after all only a game or an opinion. It is so easy to sit on our pedestal pointing fingers and passing judgment on what so and so should have said or done, while we in our glass houses have never been in the positions of those we pass judgement on.  The idea that we get caught up to the point where we have lost sight of our own fallibility ends up sucking the fun out of the game or the ability to communicate an opposing view with clarity, or perhaps even convincing some of the validity of the opposing perspective.

Go Red Sox!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in humor, introspection, Just Because, life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Politics and Little League

  1. Donald Miller says:

    That’s telling ‘em, JT. Good point.

  2. Donald Miller says:

    I’d make another comment about this post you wrote, but your point is well-taken. Thought I’d mention that I do have that new site set up that I mentioned. (actually it’s my old site, overhauled so as to not have religion and politics on it) Only two posts on it, but one of them–not written by me–is my favorite story from the web. Don’t know if you read it or not but it’s called, “Arthur The Wild Warthog’s Belly Rub.” Anyhow, thought I’d let you know about it for whenever you’re in the neighborhood.

  3. nyparrot says:

    Hello there,
    I am very excited to let you know that I have nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award. I have included a brief explanation of what makes your blog so inspirational to me here:
    http://nyparrot.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/you-think-you-know-me-but-you-dont-writing-a-blog-is-rewarding/
    Thanks for inspiring me, and may inspiration be always present in abundance in your life!

Leave a Reply

