Intermission…


 As of late I have been delving a little deep on the spiritual side of things, ( not that there is anything wrong with that) and thought I would come up for a bit of air.

Owen Sound Drive-in Theatre

Owen Sound Drive-in Theatre (Photo credit: Explore The Bruce)

 

 

  Do you remember going to the drive-in? I guess there are still a few out there and I haven’t been in years. I do remember as a child thinking it was such a thrill and a treat… you know putting the blanket out next to the car, maybe with a friend you had somehow cajoled your parents into bringing along. Perhaps throwing the frisbee around with Mom biting her nails down to the nub worrying about who we may inadvertently decapitate or how many times we narrowly averted certain pancakeitis from reckless running between the cars.

  Most of the time the highlight of the evening wasn’t what movie was playing, but the dual joys of staying up past bedtime and intermission. Let’s face it popcorn and ice cream have never tasted as good as when you had to take out a bank loan to pay for them!

 By the end of the evening we were exhausted, covered in a conglomeration of greasy foodstuffs and enough mosquito bites to pass muster in a measles convention. Yep those were the good ole days!

Enjoy your weekend,

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in food, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Intermission…

  1. Mary says:

    I’m thinking Olivia is now old enough to go to the drive-ins…..sooooooo we should go to the drive-ins this summer!! :)

  2. There are 2 fond memories of childhood coming back to me as I read your post. #1 love the drive in and remember the movie palaces back in the day (my parents would make us dress up to go to those movie places). #2 There was this local pizza place that would run Mighty Mouse, the Three Stoges, Abott and Costello while enjoying a slice of pie on a Friday or Saturday night – loved that! Loving your post and keep writing on the spiritual side too because it makes me think and ponder!!!

    • JT says:

      Have no fear I can not help but write about the spiritual… it is my Life! Thanks Renee, I am glad you find mental stimulation here :-)

  3. Donald Miller says:

    I didn’t know they were still around. I love ‘em. I haven’t been to one in 35 years, except during those couple of times I dreamt about ‘em. Fun times. Good memories.

  4. Donald Miller says:

    The new issue is out, and I was thinking this would make a good article. Go to the link for a few more details, if you’re interested.

    http://wordexpressweekly.wordpress.com/wordexpress-community/community-interests/drive-in-article/

Leave a Reply

