Optimistic Optimism


     An epiphany hit me the other day, I was hired to be an eternal optimist. Really… No I am serious! It’s deceptive really because no where in the Job heading or description does it say the word optimism or even allude to the need to be forever positive, however after doing the job for a while I am convinced it should be there, spelled out clearly, that come hell or high water, the glass is always supposed to be full.

     I guess I can understand why it doesn’t say that clearly, because the job would be a little hard to fill. Enter example below:

  I present to you one John Doe.  John has the equivalent of a fourth grade education, no communication skills and becomes anxious in crowds. John wants to be president, now go get him that job.

    Eternal optimist says: Absolutely, shouldn’t be a problem at all, give me a week! First we will start a massive campaign to shift social opinion in order to promote John’s particular skills sets as the answer for all that besets our society, next we will cultivate a team of highly qualified and motivated advisors and support staff in order to facilitate the radical changes to be made to solve all our issues.  Finally, we will attack any and all adversaries, that their counter points to our proposals are motivated by prejudice against someone who doesn’t share their viewpoint and or social upbringing, education, race, creed, origin, or religious beliefs.

Head or Pumpkin?

Image by CarbonNYC via Flickr

     Somewhere along the line I must have lost my mind, if you are out and about and slip on some loose marbles will you send me an e-mail. I will work out the details on how to return them to my empty head.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have overcome an autoimmune disease through lifestyle changes. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in health, humor, introspection, Just Because, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Optimistic Optimism

  1. Mary says:

    You have my vote!

  2. Walt says:

    I don’t think a political career is so far fetched. You have the right plan, it has worked in the past. Ouch!!! Damn marbles are all over the place.

  3. Too funny! I think “eternal optimist” should probably be in many job descriptions along with “endless patience” and “slow to anger” — because isn’t that the expectation?

    But on the subject of politics (which is where I think you were really going with this) I think you hit the nail on the head. Loose marbles and all. ;)

  4. Renee says:

    I found a few marbles after rolling around on the floor after reading your post – ha:)

    • JT says:

      Gee there seems to be a trend setting up here, I will send you a S.A.S.E. please send them back ASAP, Osha is after me for creating slip hazards :-)

Leave a Reply

